SOLSC24

A Fancy Cup

A few months ago, I treated myself to a gift: A Nespresso coffee machine. Since, I’ve enjoyed tinkering and researching to learn more about it.

This morning, I had nothing to do and nowhere to go. Usually, I am off to a run already, but I raced yesterday. Today was a rest day. I could take my time brewing and enjoying my coffee. I selected a glass mug. I love using a glass mug for Nespresso coffee because you can see the artful layers coffee, foam, and creamer.

I poured a finger of milk in the bottom of the cup after some contemplation. I typically use oat milk. I don’t like regular milk, and I’m also lactose intolerant, not that this small amount would bother me. However, the oat milk doesn’t look as pretty in the glass cup. I heated the cup of milk in the microwave for ten seconds, then frothed the milk with my milk frother. A nice foam layer rested on top of the milk.

I placed my frothy cup under the Nespresso machine and selected a pod. The poor selection reminded me that I have a package of refills coming soon. Yum! I chose one of my “barista creations” pods, meaning there is already flavor in it. I wouldn’t need to add any syrup. I placed the “golden caramel” pod in my machine and pressed the button.

I stared as the steady stream of golden brown liquid poured out of the machine and into the frothy milk. A brown spot appeared in the milk, and grew. I put my eyes parallel to the counter and watched the layers form. A warm, toasty coffee smell filled the area around the machine. Finally, when the liquid level was almost to the brim of the cup, it stopped brewing.

There were three layers: dark brown, golden brown, and white. The top of the cup was white, with that golden brown circle in the middle of it. I grabbed a spoon and lazily swirled the foamy top, drawing a spiral in the froth. It didn’t look instagram-worthy, but it looked delicious. I snapped a pic before heading to the couch to sit and drink it, with no TV, no book, and no phone. It was sublime.

5 thoughts on “A Fancy Cup

  1. Your coffee looks delicious! I enjoyed your description of making your perfect cup of coffee. I also love coffee, but use a press pot, so I buy whole beans and grind them. However one makes it, coffee is wonderful. Especially in the morning.

    Like

  2. Love the detailed description. Your coffee in the glass mug looks like a work of art. I desperately need coffee first thing in the morning. But lately I’ve been using a keurig and need to come up with better tasting coffee. You’ve inspired me to change something in the coffee department.

    Like

Leave a comment