SOLSC24 · Teaching

Using Our Reading Journals to Make Inferences

Today, we read the amazing book Big, by Vashti Harrison. Inspired by her own childhood, the story is about the reactions a “big, little girl” gets from kids and adults. The focal point is when she gets stuck in a baby swing. The words are sparse, making it the perfect opportunity to practice inferences.

To make this more fun, I taught the class how to draw speech and thought bubbles. Then, they got out their reading journals and took notes as I read. When we came to a page with only a few words, I encouraged students to draw and write what the main character could be thinking or saying. The class was very engaged, and their notes helped us to draw deeper conclusions about the character and theme of the story. Here’s an example:

6 thoughts on “Using Our Reading Journals to Make Inferences

  1. Oh, I love this speech bubble ideas to help kids make inferences. Hope you don’t mind if I steal it when I tutor. Interesting slice. Thanks.

    Like

  2. Leah, THANK YOU for reading this book with your students, and for helping them lean in to inferences. Vashti Harrison created such a gift in Big, and I’m grateful teachers like you are helping kids THINK about the big feelings in it. And including the picture was a perfect touch. I love the thought bubbles.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So fun for students! This could engage them as you further inference, and remind them sometimes the inference is what the character is thinking/feeling, outside of what you may see. Love it!

    Like

  4. It’s a special book. Full of inferences and dual meanings of words. When does big become a problem? Such a simple sentence and such a complex idea. Love the deep thinking you got kids to do.

    Like

  5. Love this thinking work you encouraged. I might try this with Rose this weekend! I’ve been waiting to share this book with my own kids. I think it’s beautiful and important.

    Like

Leave a comment