SOLSC24 · Teaching

“Does That Even Count?”

This morning, during our second grade morning circle, I shared that I was disappointed because I ran out of time to write last night. “I was so busy doing my taxes that by the time I finished, I was in a bad mood and I just wanted to go to bed.” The class nodded sympathetically, indicating they’d seen the same story play out with their adults at home.

“So, I just wrote three sentences about how much I hated taxes and went to bed.”

Skeptical faces looked back at me.

“Does that even count?” a girl asked.

Pause: I LOVE that I decided to share this story and I LOVE that this was their response. In a few short days, these students will be embarking upon their own Slice of Life Story Challenge journey, and this was a great lesson for them.

“YES! Of course it counted. I wrote, didn’t I?” The kids agreed, impressed. “When you’re doing your challenge, it’s okay if there’s a day where you only write a little bit. All that matters is that you write.”


Yesterday was also the day I hung up our student SOLSC tracking chart. Students get to add a sticker for each day they write. The buzz is building, and I am so excited to go on this journey with them again!


Want to participate with us? More info here.

6 thoughts on ““Does That Even Count?”

  1. How fun!! I love the low stakes alongside your vulnerability. You’ve created such a safe, nurturing space 🤎

    Like

  2. What a great discussion to have with students! I struggle with the line between letting kids feel comfortable with writing anything and letting them feel comfortable never challenging themselves to write pieces they’re proud of. I guess maybe some years the writing itself is enough to be proud of. (Thanks for letting me think aloud. I have some good food for thought as I move through these last few days before the classroom slice of life!)

    Like

Leave a comment