SOLSC24 · Teaching

Getting Author’s Club Ready for the Classroom Challenge!

I was so excited to get to school early for Author’s Club today. Today was the day that I get to tell the writers about the Classroom SOLSC!

I gathered the writers from first through fifth grade on the carpet and reminded them about my own challenge: “As you know, I’ve been writing every day through the month of March.” I showed them the calendar I used to keep track of my days. “Monday is the first day of April, meaning it is YOUR turn to do the challenge!”

I got a few cheers, mostly from first graders who participated with me last year when I was their kindergarten teacher. I pulled out the spiral-bound notebooks I printed for them. This got some more interest!

“Each of you will get your own Slice of Life notebook.” I opened it. “On the inside cover is your own calendar to keep track of days you write, just like I had. You can also write your goal for the month. Do you hope to write twenty days? Twenty-nine? All thirty?” Excited murmurs grew as students decided what their goal should be. I turned the page to show how each page had the date written at the top already. I showed the pages with lines for writing and blank space for drawing.

“You get to do some special things since you are participating in the challenge,” I continued. “If you write for all thirty days of April, your name will be shared on the school’s morning announcements!” Now they were really pumped! “Oh, yes, I’m definitely gonna do that!” a first grade boy planned.

“Finally, if you wish, you have the option to join me for ‘Slice of Lunch.’ During your lunch period, you are invited to come to Ms. Koch’s classroom and eat while you write!” Boom! I had them.

I can’t wait to see how this goes!

Leave a comment