Slice of Life

A Spring Surprise

In November, I purchased a new home with my soon-to-be husband. While the house is amazing, it was a bummer buying a house in winter. I haven’t spent much time checking out the yard or enjoying the porch. I love to garden, and there’s a garden bed, but of course that is still a few weeks away here in St. Louis, Missouri.

Additionally, I feel like I need to wait a full year before planting anything landscape-y. Part of the fun is waiting to see what pops up, and when!

Today, I had my first delightful surprise, and how fitting that it appeared on a warm, sunny 50 degree day. A day that felt extra sunny because I had an extra hour of sunlight in the evening!

Peeking through the window were bright purple buds. I am not good with tree names, but this is one of my favorites. What a treat that I get this bright Spring vision every year in my new house!

6 thoughts on “A Spring Surprise

  1. Congratulations on your new! And this lovely spring surprise! I’m excited for you that you have a garden bed and love to garden. Soon! It’s such a fun concept that you’re waiting patiently to see what pops up. Backyard-as-party-surprise.

    Like

Leave a comment