Slice of Life

A Spring Surprise: Fantasy Edition

One of my recent slices was a narrative about finding bright purple buds on a tree in my backyard.

I’m feeling rather lackluster about the SOLSC this year, and I’m looking for motivation. I had an idea to try and rewrite one slice in different genres. So here goes…

It’s December, and we’ve just finished moving into our new home. A beautiful snow blankets the ground of the backyard, a territory that’s remained unexplored so far due to the weather. A glint of something sparkly catches my eye, noticeable against the white snow. A shimmery purple stone, almost blinding with the reflection of the sun, compounded with the bright snow surrounding it. What was it? Left here by the previous owners? Thrown over the fence of the neighboring school? I didn’t stop to investigate.

Now, it’s January, and I’m carrying the potting soil from the house to the shed out back, venturing into the unexplored backyard for one the first times on a surprisingly warm and sunny day. No snow today, just muddy grass. As I walk back, empty-handed, from the shed, a glimmer catches my eye. Oh yeah- that weird plum-colored stone. I shrug it off and walk on. I have too much to do today to investigate a silly toy. Besides, I haven’t even explored much of the garden yet!

It’s February, and I’m rushing about the kitchen as I prepare breakfast. The sun shines through the window above the sink, unobstructed by trees. I love how open the backyard is. I rush off to school.

It’s March. Another morning. Another breakfast. A shadow falls over my face as I lean over the sink. That’s weird. There isn’t anything in the backyard to make a shadow. I raise my eyes and gasp.

Where there used to be nothing, there is a lovely tree, brimming with purple buds. What? Surely it’s always been there. I rush out into the unexplored backyard, actually heading out to linger for once. The spot of the tree reminds me- Hey! That’s where that sparkly violet stone was for months. Now there’s no sign of it. Only this large tree, that didn’t exist yesterday, covered with purple buds, precisely the color of that stone…

2 thoughts on “A Spring Surprise: Fantasy Edition

  1. What a fun way to invigorate old posts! This seems like a wonderful exemplar that could be shared with students. And I love the image of the bright purple stone growing into a beautiful tree overnight.

    Like

Leave a comment