Slice of Life

A Spring Surprise: Information Edition

I’m experimenting with writing the same slice of life story in different genres. Here’s what I’ve done so far:

Narrative

Fantasy

Today, I’ll rewrite it as an informational text.

As I walked downstairs of my new home yesterday, I saw a surprise. Purple blooms on the Magnolia tree in my backyard!

I live in Missouri, where magnolia trees are native plants. There are also three species of Magnolia in this state. The most remarkable is the Southern Magnolia with its large purple and white blooms. The Southern Magnolia stands in my backyard.

It’s a sign that Spring is on the way when you spot Magnolia blooms! They bloom in early Spring along with other flowering Missouri trees. But they’re not just fun for people. Birds and insects use the trees for nesting sites and shelter. Bees and butterflies feed on the nectar and pollen from the blooms. This is extra important at the beginning of Spring when there aren’t as many flower choices yet.

Be aware: The Magnolia trees are in danger even though it seems they’re omnipresent. They can fall victim to pests and diseases, so monitor Magnolia trees in your area for signs of illness.

Now that I know how important this beautiful tree is, I know it’s much more than originally meet the eye.

3 thoughts on “A Spring Surprise: Information Edition

Leave a comment